While in Edpuzzle, you can do basic edits to your videos. If you have a longer video and only want to use portions of it, you can cut/trim the video in the Edpuzzle program. This article will walk you through how to edit videos in Edpuzzle.
For instructions on how to add questions or notes to your videos, see this article.
Cutting/Trimming Sections of a Video in Edpuzzle
Have the perfect video but only need/want to use part of it? You can use the cut feature in the editing section to include only what you need.
To cut a video, follow these steps:
- In the video editor, click on the "Cut" tab.
- Below your video, you’ll see a blue bar. Drag the white vertical line at either side of the bar to crop from the beginning or the end of your video.
- If you want to add another cut to your video (for example, if you want to cut a section from the middle), click the “Add cut” button. You can repeat this step as many times as you like!
- When you’re finished, the sections you’ve cut will appear in gray and the remaining video will appear in blue in the bar.
- To preview how your video will appear with the cuts, drag the black ball back to the beginning of your video.
Saving Videos Once Finished
Once you've finished editing your video, you can assign it to a class or save it for later.
To access these options, click the blue “Finish” button in the top right corner on the editing page. From here, you can:
- Save the video for later by clicking on the "Later" button.
- Assign the video to a class.
Don't worry – you won't lose your work if you close the page by accident while editing your video! Video lessons are automatically saved every five seconds so you don't have to remember to click "Save".
Editing Videos That Have Already Been Assigned
In Edpuzzle, you can't edit a video that has already been assigned. Instead, you'll need to copy the video and then follow these steps:
- Go to the "Content" tab, then click on "My Content" in the left side menu.
- Check the box below the video you want to copy and select "Duplicate" from the bottom menu.
- Now check the box below the copied video and select "Edit" from the bottom menu.
- Edit the video, then click "Finish."
- Assign it to the class again.
- Go to "Content," select the original video and delete it (unless you want to keep both).
Note: By deleting a previous video, all student data associated with that video will also be deleted for privacy reasons.