Creating Breakout Rooms


1. From the Breakout menu, click Enable Breakout Sessions to enable the breakout session feature. You can also enable the breakout session feature when you schedule a meeting.  When the breakout session feature is enabled, the Breakout sessions button appears in the meeting controls.



2. In your meeting, select Breakout Sessions. Only one host or cohost can have the Breakout session assignment dialog box open at a time.



3. Select the number of breakout sessions you want to create and how you want to assign your participants:

  • Assign automatically: Let us split your participants up evenly into each of the breakout sessions.
  • Assign manually: You assign participants to each breakout session.
  • Let participants choose any session: Participants can join any session.


4. Click Create Assignments.


The breakout sessions are created. By default, breakout sessions are named Breakout session 1, Breakout session 2, and so on. You can rename the breakout sessions later. 

If you chose Automatically in Step 3, the participants are assigned. 

If you chose Manually in Step 3, assign participants to breakout sessions. 

If you want to change the number of breakout sessions or how the participants were assigned, click Reset and repeat Steps 3 and 4. The new breakout sessions replace all existing sessions.



5. To change breakout session settings, click Settings.

  • For Allow attendees to return to the main meeting, check this setting if you want to allow attendees to be able to leave the breakout sessions and return to the main meeting at any time. Uncheck this setting if you want attendees to remain in the breakout session until the breakout sessions end or you ask all to return.
  • For Allow attendees to join session later, check this setting if you want attendees to receive a message that they've been invited to a breakout session but allow them to join the session on their own. Uncheck this setting if you want attendees to be moved automatically into the breakout sessions after the sessions start.
  • For Automatically end breakout sessions after, check this setting if you want breakout sessions to end automatically after a specified time. Enter the duration in minutes. Otherwise, you'll need to end all breakout sessions manually.
  • For When sessions end, give participants more time before returning to main meeting, check this setting if you want to give attendees some time to wrap up before the breakout sessions end. Select the countdown timer duration. Uncheck this setting if you want the breakout sessions to end and attendees to return to the main meeting immediately after you end all breakout sessions.


6. When you're ready to start all breakout sessions, click Start Breakout Sessions.



Broadcast a Message to Breakout Sessions


1. If the Breakout session assignment dialog box isn't already open, click Breakout sessions to open it. Only one host or cohost can have the Breakout session assignment dialog box open at a time.



2. Click Broadcast in the Breakout session assignment dialog box any time after the breakout sessions have started.



3. From the All sessions drop-down list, select which sessions you want to broadcast the message to.



4. If you chose All sessions in Step 3, from the All participants drop-down list, select who you want to broadcast the message to.


5. Enter your message and click Send.



End All Breakout Sessions


As a host or cohost, you can end all breakouts sessions. When you end all breakout sessions, everyone who's in a breakout session returns to the main meeting automatically.


1. If the Breakout session assignment dialog box isn't already open, click Breakout to open it. Only one host or cohost can have the Breakout session assignment dialog box open at a time.



2. Click End all breakout sessions > End sessions.


Attendees see a message like this when you end all breakout sessions.


3. If you want to use the breakout sessions again later, you can restart them by clicking Start breakout sessions.